2015 Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Award (amateur playwrights only)

Amateur playwrights are invited to submit unpublished one-act plays for the 11th Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Award. Three winning scripts, judged purely on the writing, will be selected for performance in October during the 2015 Windsor Fringe Festival.

Judges: Iqbal Khan and Alan Brodie were the 2014 judges. This year’s judges are to be confirmed.

Shortlisted writers will be announced in mid. June 2015 on the Windsor Fringe website. The three short-listed author’s plays will be performed on the last three nights of The Windsor Fringe Festival during October 2015.  The winner will be announced after the last performance.

Eligibility: Only amateur playwrights are eligible to enter.  One script maximum per entrant.

What to submit:  Plays must not have been previously performed, be the original work of the entrant and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre with no more than six actors. Plays must be no more than 30 minutes long.

How to apply: Submit two copies of each script, printed on A4 paper, no binding or stapling. The pages must be numbered. No submissions by email, no scripts returned. Judging is on a totally anonymous basis – the author’s name must not appear in the script. The cover page must include the name of the play, author’s name, contact details and signature. BBC Writersroom applicants will be granted a waiver of the £5 reading fee if the words “Writers Room” appear on the top right- hand corner of the cover page.

Scripts should be sent to:

Windsor Fringe Drama Writing Award
Suite 640, 24-28 St Leonard’s Road
Windsor, Berks. SL4 3BB U.K

For further infomation and contact details visit the Windsor Fringe website or email

Deadline:  5 March 2015

Source:  BBC Writersroom

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.