Alfred Bradley Bursary Award

The Alfred Bradley Bursary Award is a £5,000 writing bursary to Northern writers new to radio and the chance of a Radio 4 drama commission.

The Award was established in 1992 to commemorate the life and work of Alfred Bradley, the distinguished BBC Radio Drama Producer and is run by Radio Drama North in conjunction with BBC Writersroom.

Previous winners include Lee Hall (Billy Elliot, War Horse), Peter Straughan (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, The Debt) and Cat Jones (Doctors, Waterloo Road) who have all gone on to have huge success across radio, TV and film.

Applications for the Alfred Bradley Bursary Award will open on Friday 25th September 2020. To apply you must be aged 18 or over on 25th September 2020 and currently reside in the North of England on a permanent / full time basis. The North of England is defined by the Boundary Committee for England which includes the North East, North West, Yorkshire and Humber.

For full information see the Terms and Conditions of Entry

Scripts should be submitted via the online BBC Writersroom e-submission system using this link

*Please note that this link will only be active from 9pm on Friday 25th September – Friday 6th November at 5pm. You will not be able to submit before or after this time.*

Find out more about previous winners of the Alfred Bradley Bursary Award

Deadline: 6 November 2020 at 5pm 

Source: BBC Writersroom

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.