Alfred Fagon Award 2015 open for applications from playwrights of Caribbean or African descent

The 2015 Alfred Fagon Award for Best New Play of the Year supported by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation, is now open for applications. The winner will receive £6000.

Eligibility and Criteria:

  • The award is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK.
  • The play does not need to have been produced, but if it has, only plays produced since August 2014 will be considered
  • Each entrant can only submit one play. Plays may be nominated by a third party (ie, agent) with the writer’s consent.
  • TV and film scripts will not be considered.

How to apply:  Send in your 2 copies of your play, accompanied by a CV confirming your Caribbean and or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play.  CV’s must include email, address and contact number) to:

Pauline Walker
The Alfred Fagon Award, Talawa Theatre Company, 53-55 East Road, N1 6AH

Along with an electronic copy of your play to

Deadline: 1 August 2015 at 12 noon

Source: @BushGreenLive via @Playwriting_UK








Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.