The Leslie Scalapino Award 2014

The Leslie Scalapino Award is made in memory of Leslie Scalapino, her extraordinary body of work, and her commitment to the community of experimental writing and performance. (Read about Leslie here.)

The Leslie Scalapino Award recognizes the importance of exploratory approaches and an innovative spirit in writing for performance. The first cycle’s winner was Joyelle McSweeney, with her work Dead Youth, or The Leaks. Last cycle they received 400 submissions and a wonderful range of work. In this second cycle, they are refining the award in the following ways: expansion of the prize; and being more specific about the kind of work we wish to encourage in Leslie’s spirit.

Eligibility:  Applicants should have had no more than 3 productions of their work, as the award is intended to open up opportunities, although it is not limited to emerging writers. The Award for Innovative Women Performance Writers intends to support new writing by female-identified people, inclusive of transwomen. The prize is open to international submissions in English.

What to submit:  They are looking for a full-length work for live performance by a woman writer with an inquiring approach to language and content. The poetic practice of Leslie Scalapino was interdisciplinary, including photography, plays, performance, and collaboration with dance and music. They would like to honor this aspect of her work in the award.

While the principal focus for the award is on innovative writing for performance, competitive submissions may consider a range of approaches to innovation in performance, including but not limited to integrated experimentations with language, gesture, movement, sound, visual art / vision, site / location and/or activist practice. The writer should demonstrate some experience in the discipline, materials or medium involved.

How to apply:  Application is online only, at Submittable… To apply click HERE.

You will be asked to submit a single PDF containing:

  •  A 10-page excerpt from a completed work.
  •  Your CV.
  • A further single page of work statement, to include a)  a summary of the work, and b) a description of your approach.

Submission Timeline:

  • Deadline to apply:  July 4 2014
  • Full texts requested from shortlist:  August 1 2014
  • Deadline for full texts:  August 15
  • Winners and finalists announced:  September 1

Deadline: 4 July 2014

Source:  @Playwriting_UK

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.