Yale Drama Series Competition 2018

The Yale Drama Series is an annual, international competition for emerging playwrights. The winner is awarded the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, publication of the winning play by Yale University Press and a staged reading at Lincoln Center Theater in New York City.

Winners are chosen by the preeminent playwrights of our time. Edward Albee served as the Series’ inaugural judge (2007-2008), followed by Sir David Hare (2009-2010), John Guare (2011-2012), Marsha Norman (2013-2014), Nicholas Wright (2015-2016), and Ayad Akhtar (2017-2018).

What to submit:  A full-length play in English (worldwide submissions accepted).  Playwrights may submit only one manuscript per year.  No application form is required beyond the play itself.

The manuscript must begin with a title page that shows the play’s title and your name, address, telephone number, e-mail address (if you have one), page count and (if applicable) a list of acknowledgments; a second title page which lists the title of the play only, a 2-3 sentence keynote description of the play,  a list of characters, and a list of acts and scenes.

A brief biography may be included in the digital application form.

Full submission details can be found on their website.

How to apply:  They encourage electronic submissions, which can be made at the following address: https://yup.submittable.com/submit.

What you get:  The winner of this annual competition will be awarded the David Charles Horn Prize of $10,000, publication of his/her manuscript by Yale University Press, and a staged reading at Lincoln Center Theater.

Deadline: 15 August 2017

4 thoughts on “Yale Drama Series Competition 2018”

  1. Pingback: Opportunities Weekly Round-up: 11 August 2017 | LONDON PLAYWRIGHTS' BLOG

  2. Pingback: Opportunities Weekly Round-up: 4 August 2017 | LONDON PLAYWRIGHTS' BLOG

  3. Could you please tell me the 2018 deadline for a submission for the ‘Yale Drama Series Competition 2018’? Thank you Maggie McCann

    1. Hi Maggie, from what we’ve heard this year’s deadline (for what will be the 2019 award) hasn’t been announced yet, but it’s usually around the same time every year. Hope this helps!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.