Alfred Fagon Award 2018 open for submissions

Entries are now open for the 22nd Alfred Fagon Award which is supported by The Peggy Ramsay Foundation.

Last year’s award for Best New Play of the Year was won by Mufaro Makubika who won £6,000 for his play ShebeenShebeen is at Nottingham Playhouse  1 – 16 June and Theatre Royal Stratford East 20 June – 7 July.  Shebeen stars Karl Collins and Martina Laird.

Entry Criteria: 

  • The competition is open to any playwright of Caribbean or African descent, resident in the UK, for the best original, new stage play in English.
  • Plays must be full length.
  • The play does not need to have been produced.  However, if it has, only plays produced since August 2017 will be considered.
  • Each submitted play must be accompanied by a CV, confirming the writer’s Caribbean and/or African heritage and residency in the UK along with a brief synopsis of the play. (CV must also include your address,  email address and a contact telephone number).
  • Each entrant can submit only one play. A play may also be nominated by a third party with the writer’s consent (e.g. via an agent)
  • Television, radio plays and film scripts will not be considered.
  • New as well as established writers are encouraged to enter.

How to apply: 

  • Two hard copies of your script should be sent to: Pauline Walker, The Alfred Fagon Award, c/o Talawa Theatre Company, Rich Mix, 35-47 Bethnal Green Road, London E1 6LA.
  • An electronic copy of the play should also be sent by email to

Deadline: 27 July 2018 at 5pm

Source: Write a Play

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.