Kenneth Branagh Award for New Drama Writing at Windsor Fringe (£500 prize)

Amateur playwrights world-wide are invited to submit unpublished one-act plays in English for the Kenneth Branagh Award. Three winning scripts will be selected for performances during the Windsor Fringe Festival in October 2018.

Scripts will be evaluated by readers and the final nine short listed by our two judges (names to be confirmed.) The three winning writers will be notified by the middle of June 2018. Results of the competition will be announced through the media, the Windsor Fringe web//Twitter/ Facebook sites and the winner of the £500 award will be announced after the last night performance.

Eligibility: Only amateur playwrights are eligible and only one script per author will be accepted. Each script must be an original work and not have been previously published or performed.

What to submit: Each play must be no more than 30 minutes long, have a cast of no more than six actors, and be suitable for staging in a studio theatre. 

How to apply: 

  • So that each script may be judged anonymously, the author’s name must appear on the cover page only, not in the script.
  • Writers applying who saw this opportunity on the BBC Writersroom website should quote “BBC Writersroom “ on the top right hand corner.
  • Writers should submit two copies of their plays, printed on one side only of A4 paper with no binding or stapling. Pages must be numbered.
  • No submissions will be accepted by email; and no scripts will be returned.
  • The cover page must show the name of the play and the author’s name, contact details and signature.

Please post to:

Windsor Fringe Kenneth Branagh Drama Writing Award
Suite 640, 24-28 St Leonard’s Road

Deadline: 5 March 2018

Source: BBC Writersroom

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.