Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize open for submissions (comedy)

The second Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize is now open for entries.

One comedy writer will walk away with £10,000 and the opportunity to have their play considered for production by Liverpool’s Royal Court, while up to two Highly Commended awards of £1,500 will also be on offer.

New judges for this year include comedian and actor Les Dennis, playwright Amanda Whittington, editor of The Stage Alistair Smith and last year’s winner Katie Mulgrew.

Returning to the judging panel are screenwriter and novelist Frank Cottrell Boyce, Royal Court Chief Executive Kevin Fearon, Playwright and critic Paul Allen, Liverpool Hope University theatre expert Dr John Bennett, and the Liverpool Echo’s arts editor Catherine Jones. The panel will read the final ten scripts and announce the winner in Spring 2017.

The Stage and the Liverpool Echo have both been confirmed as media partners for the 2016-17 Playwriting Prize.

Budding playwrights have until May 31st 2016 to submit their comedy stage play. This year’s competition is open to anyone over the age of 18 in any UK territory or the Republic of Ireland.

There is a £20 entry fee.

Scripts (in PDF or Microsoft Word format) should be uploaded to the Liverpool Hope University Online Store at from 10am on Thursday 18th February.

Deadline: 31 May 2016

Source: The Stage

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.