The Walter Swan Playwriting Award 2015 seeking 20-30 minute plays

The Walter Swan Playwriting Award is being run in association with the Ilkley Playhouse and the Ilkley Literature Festival and with support from the West Yorkshire Playhouse. It is planned that it is an annual event.

There are two categories:

The Walter Swan Young Playwriting Award

for those aged 18 and under as at 1 September 2015

The Walter Swan Playwriting Award

for those aged 19 and over as at 1 September 2015

 Eligibility:  The competition is open to all UK residents. We will accept entries from groups but there must be clear authorship. Entry is free but only one entry will be accepted per person/group.

 What to submit:  Each submitted script can be of any genre (including monologues or verse) and must:

  •  have a performance time of between 20 and 30 minutes
  • require a maximum of 4 actors and very simple staging
  • be an original piece of writing that has not been performed professionally

What you win:  The winning plays will be performed at both West Yorkshire Playhouse and Ilkley Playhouse in the autumn of 2015. There will also be a cash prize of £250 for each winner. A small number of high quality entries will receive a letter of commendation.

How to apply:  All plays are to be submitted online through the website.

The entry window will open on 1 February 2015 and close on 30 April 2015.  Any questions on the competition should be sent to

Deadline:  30 April 2015 (note: submissions do not open until 1 February!)

Source:  @Playwriting_UK




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.